Aurora surprise!

26 Mar

During the evening of March 23, 2023, I started seeing a lot of chatter on Twitter about a northern lights show over Europe. Once it got dark here in Ontario, I saw a post from someone reporting aurora from Muskoka, Ontario. Muskoka is at a similar latitude to my location outside Ottawa, so I hopped into action and went outside.

I drove to the end of my street to find a dark location, and spend about 30 minutes taking photos but the activity was very faint and clouds began to roll in. I headed home and was about to give up when I spotted a burst of activity out my back door just before 11pm. I was able to take the following photos with my iPhone 13 Pro from my backyard:

My photos also made the local 6 o’clock news!

It’s been almost 8 years since I’ve seen a show this good from Ottawa, so I was very happy to catch it!

One Response to “Aurora surprise!”

  1. Jim R March 26, 2023 at 8:38 am #

    Good for you. Beautiful colors in the photos. Our local weatherman in Iowa notified many of us that they were visible. I went outside but some clouds were still in the way.

Leave a comment