Jupiter Shadow Transit Animation with iPhone

23 Apr

This week I assembled my first-ever animation of a planet photographed with my iPhone. On April 14, 2015, I took images of Jupiter over the span of 2.5 hours with an iPhone 6 attached to my 8″ Celestron NexStar 8SE telescope. I then chose the best four images and assembled them into the following GIF:

Jupiter Shadow Transit AnimationWhat you’re seeing is the shadow of Jupiter’s moon Ganymede move across Jupiter, while Jupiter’s rotation carries the Great Red Spot along. Ganymede itself is visible at left in the first three frames before it moves out of view.

I was able to use my iPhone for almost everything required to create this animation except the stacking and editing of the individual images. To obtain and edit the images with my iPhone, I used the methodology outlined in my smartphone astrophotography post. To create the GIF, I used the 5SecondsApp.

I would love the ability to stack and edit video directly via the iPhone, so if anyone knows of an app to do this (or wants to create one) please let me know in the comments!

Lastly, if you want to enjoy this with some relevant music, see my Instagram version.

2 Responses to “Jupiter Shadow Transit Animation with iPhone”

  1. Jim in IA April 23, 2015 at 10:57 pm #

    I like that animation. Well done. I’m still waiting for the company to get their phone adapter out that will hold mine. Should be this month. I’m eager to try some phonephotos.

    Nice musical version btw.

Leave a Reply

