Jupiter with iPhone, February 27, 2015

2 Mar

I captured my best iPhone image of Jupiter to date thanks to excellent seeing and a new 9mm eyepiece. The Great Red Spot is clearly visible as is the moon Io at far left.

Jupiter iPhone

Jupiter and Io. Stack of 234 video frames taken with iPhone 4S through NexStar 8SE telescope.

I also took some video with my iPhone 6. The default iPhone 6 camera does not seem to capture the colour of small objects properly (I’ve yet been able to match the planetary quality I obtain with my 4S) but I was able to capture a decent video of Jupiter and 3 moons a bit later that night using the FilMicPro app:

4 Responses to “Jupiter with iPhone, February 27, 2015”

  1. Jim in IA March 2, 2015 at 12:44 pm #

    Great job. You’ve inspired me again to try these things. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

