Mars From Earth vs From Orbit

30 Sep

India’s Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) successfully entered Martian orbit on September 24, 2014 and has sent back some spectacular photos. The most recent (and most beautiful, IMHO) is a global, colour image of Mars that shows Syrtis Major and the Hellas basin at far right.

After seeing the image, I realized that I’d taken a photo of almost exactly that region through my telescope in April. I’ve compared the two below. Clearly, it pays to be in orbit!

India Mars Orbiter

Mars through my telescope (LEFT) vs from India’s Mars orbiter (RIGHT). Orbiter image credit: ISRO.

Learn more about my image on my Flickr page, and about the orbital Mars image on Emily Lakdawalla’s Planetary Society Blog.

Leave a Reply

