The Five Ancient Planets…with an iPhone!

7 Jul

Since 2012, I’ve been using an iPhone 4S to photograph the planets and the Sun via techniques described in my iPhone astrophotography blog post. By attaching my phone to my 8″ Schmidt-Cassegrain telescope (for planetary photography) and my 40mm solar telescope (for solar photography) I’ve been able to capture some surprisingly detailed photos of our celestial neighbours.

It was only this year, however, that I was able to capture Mercury (the most elusive of the naked eye planets) through the telescope. With Mercury in hand, I was able to complete my first collage of the Sun and the five planets known to the ancients: Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn.

iPhone Astrophotography

Sun, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn taken with iPhone 4S through Celestron NexStar 8SE and Coronado PST telescopes.

Moving Forward

Now that I’ve completed this collage, I plan to attempt to capture Uranus and Neptune with my iPhone this summer/fall to create a complete montage of the solar system. Those will be very dim targets and I’m not sure how well I can capture them via the iPhone camera, but I figure it’s worth a try!

Details

All photos were taken with my iPhone 4S through my Celestron NexStar 8SE telescope unless otherwise noted.

Sun: June 29, 2012 through Coronado PST
Mercury: May 24, 2014
Venus: May 11, 2012
Mars: April 11, 2014
Jupiter: March 16, 2014
Saturn: June 1, 2014

The images used in this collage and others can be found on my Flickr page.

2 Responses to “The Five Ancient Planets…with an iPhone!”

  1. Denny August 19, 2014 at 11:01 am #

    Fantastic images! I’ve gotten a decent shot of Saturn with my iphone held to the EP. After seeing these I’ve decided I will have to buy an actual mount! Very impressive. Your Orion Nebula shot was a one second exposure – how do you get a timed exposure with an iPhone? Any particular app you find useful?

Leave a Reply

